LRFF logo
MAY 11-17

Formation of the Arkansas Film Studies Insititute Announced at the 2011 LRFF GALA at the Clinton Presidential Library

As announced at the 5th Annual Little Rock Film Festival awards ceremony held at the Clinton Presidential Center, the festival’s Board of Directors has finalized the formation of a new film Institute. Award-winning documentary filmmaker and Little Rock Film Festival, Inc. Co-Founder, Brent Renaud, has been appointed Executive Director to lead the effort.

This new Institute is a state wide initiative to promote and support filmmaking and film culture in Arkansas. It will be the overarching organization under which the Little Rock Film Festival, the LRFF Youth! Program, the Reel Civil Rights Film Festival, the 48 Hour Film Festival, and the Argenta Film Series will operate. Additional projects are under way, with the goal of continuing the momentum created for the film community, both in Arkansas and regionally. We look forward to working with Christopher Crane at the Arkansas Film Commission to help bring out of state productions to Arkansas, and with filmmakers and film festivals within the state to support local productions.

The Little Rock Film Festival will be announcing a new Executive Director soon, as the previous director is graduating from school and moving on to new endeavors, and the festival is expanding its reach and its staff.

All press inquiries regarding the announcement of the Institute and the appointment of the new Executive Directors for the Little Rock Film Festival should be directed to: